Beta Version

IELTS International English Language Testing System


IELTS, the International English Language Testing System, is designed to assess the language ability of candidates who need to study or work where English is used as the language of communication. IELTS is required for entry to university in the UK and other countries. IELTS is recognized by universities and employers in many countries, including Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, the UK and the USA. It is also recognized by professional bodies, immigration authorities and other government agencies. 
More than 1.4 million people a year take the test.

The test has four sections:

  • Listening - 4 sections, 40 questions, 30 minutes
  • Speaking - interview, 15 minutes
  • Reading - different for Academic or General Training - 3 sections, 40 questions, 60 minutes
  • Writing - different for Academic or General Training - pieces of writing, 60 minutes.

The IELTS score is measured in Bands. The Highest Score is 9 in band. Universities typically require a band score of between 6 and 7. However, level depends on the academic institution in which you wish to study and the type of course you will be taking. IELTS is also a mandatory requirement for students of many nationalities to get student visas to Australia. An IELTS score must be included at the time of application for the student visa. Tests older than 2 years are not acceptable.


For Whom

Certifiation Related withIELTS International English Language Testing System
Back to top